Lore: Today I Saw A Fairy

Disclaimer: The following document fragment is presented from an in-character perspective, it should not be taken as the truth of the setting.

Context: An excerpt from a published journal of a relatively young mage, containing her thoughts on many matters concerning the world, the people and the other creatures inhabiting it.


It’s hard to reach so far back in time, so hard to recall the memories of what it was like back when I saw it differently, with the eyes of a child. I remember there was a day I came home crying because the other children made fun of me for what I told them I saw. My father picked me up and took me to the library and sat me on his lap. He was concerned, as parents tend to be, as I tend to be now, for my own children.

I no longer remember the words, but the soul of what he said to me lingers in my mind. So excuse me as I paraphrase what I remember of it. I asked him why I see things other children don’t. Why they can never see the fairies watching us from the wood’s edge.

He told me that they will always be blissfully unaware. That it is only people like us who hold this burden. That it will weigh on me throughout my whole life. And that is because only those who see the dangers that may come tomorrow are there to stop them. Since the other cannot see what I do, nor do they want to, I should in silence watch over them. Never with the intent to burst the bubble of ignorance with which they shield themselves from the uncaring Cosmos. But to be with them as one of them, while I stand guard over calm, mundane lives in the Secret World.

At my then age, I didn’t fully grasp what he had told me. But now I can see that we live straddling two worlds. We share the Mundani Mundi with the blind childer and the Secretum Mundi with the scions of the Cosmos. Never fully a part of either, but forever torn between the Earth upon which we walk and the Stars up to which we gaze. Of these two, we are the third, as the rule of threes dictates we must be.

Though it was hard, I did as my father advised and never again mentioned what I’ve seen to my friends. I think they thought I got better. But I merely hid from them the scope of my vision. As every mage does, I did not discuss with the blind the colours and shapes I saw within the fire blazing in the sky.

Leave a comment